The 2016 Presidential Medal of Freedom Recipients

Michael Jacobsen, Staff Writer

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.

Email This Story

On November 16, President Obama announced the recipients of the Presidential Medal of Freedom award. This achievement is the nation’s highest civilian award that is presented by the President of the United States. It recognizes individuals who have made a momentous contribution to the security or nation’s interests of the United States. These contributions even include actions for world peace, or other significant objectives. The Presidential Medal of Freedom is not only awarded to U.S. citizens ,but can also be given to military personnel that would wear this on their uniform. These recipients will be awarded at the White House on November 22.

Numerous presidents had bestowed this award to various distinguished people. Some notable former presidents to hand out this award were Lyndon B. Johnson, Richard Nixon, Ronald Reagan, and George H. W. Bush.  Some distinct recipients are the Apollo 13 crew, religious humanitarian Mother Teresa, former United Kingdom Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher , former President Ronald Reagan, and R&B singer Arethra Franklin. There are a multitude of recipients of this year’s Presidential Medal of Freedom. Here is a partial list of the well-known recipients who will be receiving this award:

  • Comedian/ TV Host: Ellen DeGeneres
  • Basketball Hall of Famer: Kareem Abdul-Jabbar
  • Basketball Hall of Famer: Michael Jordan
  • Broadcaster: Vin Scully
  • Actor: Robert De Niro
  • Actor: Tom Hanks
  • Actor: Robert Redford
  • Singer/Songwriter: Bruce Springsteen
  • Singer/Songwriter: Diana Ross
Print Friendly, PDF & Email