2019 Cy Young Winners


Thomas Finch, Staff Writer

Justin Verlander and Jacob deGrom have won the 2019 AL and NL Cy Young in their respective leagues. Both pitchers had a dominant season and worked hard to earn their second Cy Young Awards each.

Justin Verlander had a phenomenal season for the Astros which included a no hitter in early September against the Toronto Blue Jays. The 36 year old ace had a milestone season where he recorded 300 strikeouts and won a Major League leading 21 games. Verlander’s final 2019 regular season stat line looked like this:

34 games started, 21-6 W/L, 2.58 ERA, 223.00 Innings Pitched, 300 Strikeouts, and a 0.803 WHIP.

Verlander also found himself selected to his 8th career all star game along with a trip to the World Series. Verlander, for sure a first ballot hall of famer, has produced a very solid resume so far winning 1 MVP award, 2 Cy Young awards, the pitching Triple Crown, Rookie of the Year, the ERA title, and has been selected to 8 All Star games. Verlander has also won the ALCS MVP award along with a World Series title in 2017. With a resume like this, Verlander will be a first ballot Hall of Famer.

Jacob DeGrom followed up his 2018 Cy Young season with another Cy Young season for the New York Mets. The 31 year old ace plays for the lowly Mets and seems to be one of the only bright spots on the team with the exception of Pete Alonso. Even on a low ranked team, DeGrom has been one of the best pitchers in the league. Even though his stats were nowhere near as incredible as they were in 2018, his 2019 stat line looked like this:

32 games started, 11-8 W/L, 2.43 ERA, 204.00 Innings Pitched, 255 Strike Outs, and a 0.971 WHIP.

DeGrom has had a nice career so far in his 6 seasons played. So far he has won Rookie of the Year, the ERA title in 2018, 2 Cy Young Awards, and has been selected to 3 All Star games. 

We will have to wait until March of 2020 to see what these pair of aces will bring to their teams and what awards they will win.