Newly Elected Board of Education Members


Kris Kozlowski, Staff Writer

After Hawthorne residents took to the polls on Tuesday, April 16, 2013 for the school board elections, Alex Clavijo, Bruce Reicher, and Lou Turco were all elected to full three-year terms, while Diego Cruz was elected to the one-year unexpired seat. The four newly elected members were sworn into office on Tuesday, April 23 at the annual reorganization meeting.

There were six candidates up for election with only four positions to be filled. Candidates included Kevin Duffy, who has served three terms on the Board; Diego Cruz, a candidate from the year prior who was appointed to fill a vacancy in August; Lou Turco, former board member; Bruce Reicher, who was elected to a one year term last April; Alex Clavijo, a mortgage originator who is seeking his first seat; and Domenick Giancaspro, who has served five terms for a total of 12 years making him the most experienced candidate.

To cap off the election, the 2013-2014 school budget, which was included in the vote, was passed in all 13 voting districts.